AOTW: Dead Poet Society – “FISSION”

February 16th, 2024 by Liz Kosik

by Isabelle Braudakis ’25

Album of the Week: Dead Poet Society“FISSION”

Released: January 26, 2024

Rate: 9/10

RIYL: Nothing but Thieves, Death from Above 1979, Royal Blood, The Struts

The band Dead Poet Society consists of members, Jack Underkofler (vocals, guitar), Jack Collins (guitar), Dyland Brenner (bass guitar), and Will Goodroad (drums). The quartet assembled in Boston, Massachusetts in 2013. “FISSION” is the band’s second studio album following their debut album “-!-“, which peaked at 19 on the U.S Main Rock charts! What drew me into this album was the vibe and heaviness of it. I immediately thought of Nothing but Thieves, with similar vocal styles and rock influences. The edginess and power of it immediately grabbed my attention and I have not been able to stop listening all week!

The opening track, “5:29:45,” starts with a heavy and distorted grinding guitar swirling like a storm, setting the mood for the record from the very beginning. The catchy chorus perfectly ties in with the rest of the song, creating a promising start. The second song, “Running in Circles” has such a catchy chorus, where the band’s intense lyrics shine through. Another track that stands out to me is “I Know It’s Hard to be God,” the massive melody, heavy bass, and drums leave their mark on this number.

Overall, this record is undeniably perfectly composed, one of my favorites so far in 2024.

My personal favorites are “HURT” and “LA Queen.” Be sure to show some love!

Leave a Reply

Download Our iPhone App Download Our iPhone App